About Us

Formed in 1951, The Little Theatre of Tuscarawas County, Inc, is a non-profit service organization dedicated to providing live theatre to the people of Tuscarawas County and beyond. The first play, Biography, was presented on October 9, 1951 at the former Union Opera House in New Philadelphia. After it was razed in May 1957, productions were presented at the New Philadelphia Elks, Dover High School, Tuscora Park, and even a tent! During this time the membership realized the need to have its own building.


After much worry, work, and planning, property was purchased, and plans were drawn for constructing a new facility. On September 9, 1961, the first shovel of earth was turned and construction began on the new theatre at 466 Carrie Ave. in New Philadelphia. Then on June 18, 1963, the new facility made its debut as The Little Theatre presented The Miracle Worker for eleven performances. This was the first time in the history of the organization that they were able to afford such a lengthy run. This milestone was reached only through the considerable amounts of money, building materials, and many hours of labor donated by members and friends of the theatre.


In 1990, a generous grant from the Reeves Foundation of Dover, Ohio funded the construction of an addition to the rear of the building, providing much-needed space for set construction and storage and wardrobe storage. Until this time, rehearsing performers tolerated the sawdust generated by on-stage set construction and the general congestion created by lack of storage space.The air-conditioned structure includes 191 comfortable theatre seats; dressing rooms; facilities for prop storage, set building, wardrobe, and make-up; professional lighting; and a lobby with box office, refreshment counter and restroom facilities.


Over the years, The Little Theatre has had the privilege of presenting hundreds of productions, chosen to appeal to a wide variety of audiences. Productions range each season from musicals to dramas to comedies to children's productions. Everyone involved with The Little Theatre does so with no compensation, giving their time and talents to help present high-quality productions to the community.


The Little Theatre is proud to be a member of the Ohio Community Theatre Association. 


Little Theatre Administrative Team

Board of Trustees

President - Kettie Kneuss



Vice-President - Meghan Miller



Treasurer - Machelle Miller



Secretary - Kait Gallagher-Wilsterman


President Emeritus - Sarah Spies


- Trustees - 

Allison Morris


Sheila Witt


Larissa Carrick


Jeff Williams


Pam Douglas


Doug Kopp


Shannon Mitchell


Committee Chairpeople

Box Office

Jane Deitrick & Charity Waugh


Building & Grounds

Larry Sams



Meghan Miller


Curtain Call Newsletter

Kait Gallagher-Wilsterman


Grants & Capital Improvements

Larissa Carrick


Hair & Makeup

Debi DeVore



Rich Jagunic



Sherrel Rieger & Halle Holmes



Joe Compton


Kathy Bergstrom

Membership & Patrons

Machelle Miller


OCTA Delegate

Machelle Miller


Original Productions

Shawn Clay


Elizabeth Thomakos



Pam Douglas



Lee Elliott


Social Media & Website

Kait Gallagher-Wilsterman



Larry Sams


Set & Workshop

Kenn Holmes



Lisa Fockler



Sarah Jane Spies & Roxie Long